I’m Honked Off How ‘Bout You?

Well if you have been following the news and the papers; I am sure you have heard that many school districts across this country are struggling with finances and unbelievable debt. But today, more than in recent, I have come to an impasse where I am about to blow a gasket! I am honked off and you should be too.

Why? First and foremost, our country built a tradition of passing on knowledge to the next generation. Then we provide public school education to all and we make this a law. If you don’t like the education system, then you get out and home school, right?

But it isn’t about liking or not liking the school system for me; for me it is about the true and utter disrespect being shown to that of every man, woman, and child in my state! Today upwards to 700-750 teachers, substitutes,coaches,library sciences, arts, choir, and band as well as janitorial staff were cut from the second largest school district in my state! We haven’t received the federal funding that was deserved this school and in the last two weeks several other very large school districts did the same, and they also had not received that federal funding. Without the federal funding the pink slips came.

One of the hardest things I have seen in a while is children going to speak into a microphone pleading to keep their teachers, or high school kids facing the loss of scholarship because there will be no music,no choir and no varsity sport.

When I look closely at my tax bill, I see that not only do I pay an absorbent amount of money for my property, I pay even more for my school district. The district that I have chosen to bring my children into. And then I stay because I think that in the long-term my children will benefit from a great school district. But my teachers cannot possibly teach and organize a class with 37 children, or 35 children, or even 30 children!  The children cannot get enough one-on-one attention to help them succeed. There are children that will need the extra help, and those children will fall through the cracks without attention.

There will be a huge amount of failure. And what I think will be worse is that within this model of “do what you can with the least amount of resources” cannot possibly result in anything good.  We are often challenged in the world arena as to why our children are not smarter than other world children is because we forgot to put them first. In most businesses, the business put its self first by paying itself and it is high time that we think about our education system that way too!

Put our kids first, and we pay ourselves by creating a better us. We cannot compete because the dollars are not there! How dare my state even tell us parents that! How dare my country for not thinking of our children first! After all I pay and I pay and I pay and so do you! I am not sure what can be done to help this situation but something needs to be done and done quickly. We created a lottery and lottery money has been designated to go to education systems across the country. You must have seen the sizes of these lottery pots, so I ask my state not only where did all that money go from my taxes, but what about all that lottery money? Where is it at?

Where is it all at?  Have you so badly mismanaged it? Have you squandered it? Then if not where can the itemization be seen? Pray tell?

I’m honked off and you should be too! Put our kids first and those educated kids will graduate and with any luck they will be smarter than the average politician running the country now!

Just my thoughts, just my opinions, and always in a conversationaltone. Mary Caliendo

Leave a Reply

