A Light at the End of the Hallway

Normally I reserve this spot for rantings and ravings….and for things that tick me and most likely you off too~ But since I’ve let this site mellow down a bit as I pursued other things, I thought I’d start back by a simple memory post; a short short story. Just a feel good vibe thing, because you do know that I’ll get back to the ranting shortly!  In the meantime, enjoy my trip down memory lane.

The Light at the End of the Hallway (A Summer Memory)

A Simple Essay of Sorts

The perfect summer day, the glorious heat fueled by the sun and along with squiggle waves that

move off the pavement to burn the bottoms of your feet. The pool swimming was all day and

sunburnt shoulders feel like they’re on fire and eyes dry as a desert hurt from scratching.

Tummy round and puffing out filled to the brim with good grilled ears of corn in charred husks

buttered and salted, fresh strawberry shortcakes made from farm day trips, hand-picked

strawberries, by us and bought by the bushel full and mom’s sweet iced tea with lemons floating.

Running barefoot at sundown, wet dewy footprints in the stark green lush freshly cut blades

where you cannot giggle enough and there aren’t enough fireflies. The nightlights made

from mason jars and pickle jars; hope they live long enough until I fall asleep. I gave them sticks

and leaves and extra air holes. Shall I name them I put six of them in there. I think for certain at

least one must be a girl firefly because her light shines the brightest. I’m getting dreamy.

The moon coming in streaming with odd blue shadows making my teddy bear seem deadly

instead of cuddly. Getting the shivery willy’s and now I’ll never sleep! It’s a hoover beneath the

blankets time with my trusty flashlight in hand. I slowly stick my hand out from underneath the

blanket to grab the nearest book by the bed. I grab it by feel only; I’m not looking out there!

The creaking floorboard tells me that one of my parents is up and walking near my bedroom, I

am sure it is my mother. I am sure she has seen the light at the end of the hallway. I cringe and

wait quietly; barely breathing. She draws slowly my door but it creaks loudly. I continue to fake

sleep. I peek with one eye jutting out from under. I see my mother’s head peek in. Quickly I

close my eyes. She says nothing until she’s about to exit my room when she says “please don’t

stay up too late” She shuts the door behind her; I heard the smile in her voice.

I know the sense of wonder and awe. Exploring a book with a flashlight in the height of summer,

sweating beneath the blanket~ this excitement I felt dawned on me that mine was also once my

mother’s too! And now I smiled.

The perfect summer was happening down at the end of the hallway~

7 responses to “A Light at the End of the Hallway

  1. nice 1!!

  2. I’m right there!! beautiful.

  3. Bringing back memories long forgotten. Thank you. 🙂

Leave a Reply

