Waterfalls

Waterfalls

The forest calls me by name and asks me to hike within it. As I travel slowly breathing deeply

of its rustic scents, I am energized. I’d love to walk here forever. I continue into the still heavily

leafed area, where I feel enveloped with hugs from the trees above me. I guess if you can see me

right now, you’d see a happy smile and lifted heart and a joyful spirit. For it is here, around this

crag and near the natural small waterfall that is fed off the river a long way away, that I chose to

sit.

I am not known to meditate, in fact, some will ask me, and do you ever sit down? Yep, here.

I could do this every day, but life has a way of getting in the middle of my happy place and me.

So, when I can, I’ll go here, even if it’s just in my mind. Now I rest; I sit on this old

withered timber that has fallen due to age and forest disease, because it was needed to house the

squirrel or the beaver or even provide winter housing for the small fox family, each of these

I have seen in my little forest.  I’ll close my eyes and I will breathe listening to the little waterfall

before me. I can hear the rustle of the winds and you as you call me and my brothers’ home to eat.

I can hear you call my name as I did not do my chores. I recall the way you answered the phone.

I know that my mortality is now being challenged. I am nearing past mid-life and I ask you

that when that day comes that you’ll be standing and waiting, calling me home to dinner; not

because I’ve missed you~ But there’s so much I want to tell you about!

4 responses to “Waterfalls

  1. Reblogged this on Livedinitaly's Blog and commented:
    Stop. Look not just with your eyes, but also with your nose and ears.

  2. We’ve Woven a Web
    MAY 28, 2010 / DOUGSTUBER / EDIT
    We’ve woven a web, you and I,
    attached to the world, for no matter
    how long, inscribed, though poorly, for
    scant eyes, still, as bright a love aura as
    has ever glowed, tightly wound around
    our hearts, yet soaring miles above
    Moodeung’s fog to warm cold February.
    Sparks fly off a round-rock fire rarely seen
    in these parts. We laugh, it feels like we
    shouldn’t be here on a cold winter night,
    just a few meters from trails so packed
    during the day. This charge will never
    leave. We’ve marked this space but must
    go to where the stars shine, deer run, art springs.
    Keep my heart in your brain, words in your hair.
    Matched lifelong yearning bursts in my hand,
    fluorescent. Quick, pack what you need, let’s
    flee! live life in the positive zone, expand
    what we enjoy together, bound by the luck
    that brought us this far. Where to next?

  3. I apologize for just now seeing this! (curtsey) Fabulous comment~ wonderful wonderful!

Leave a Reply

